Questions on developing BW film

virtualme78

Jul 21, 2010
Singapore
www.capturealifestudio.com
Hi there, I have some questions and I'm hoping to seek some answers from the experts here. I have been shooting and developing my own BW films for a few years. I recently encountered 1 problem on 2 different occasions.

I have shot and developed 2-3 rolls of self-rolled TRIX 400 which was prolly 3-4 years expired on 2 different occasions using my 4 year old diafine mixtures. My diafine mixture A is deep orange in color with some black dust like particles at the bottom of the bottle, while my diafine mixture B is deep yellow in color.

On my 2 occasions of developing the films using diafine, I got empty rolls as if I have never shot them before. I am 100% sure I have loaded the films on my Contax T3 properly and shot them till the very last frame when the camera automatically rewind the film.

The camera is working properly because I occasionally shoot C-41 films and had the rolls developed without problems at the labs. Are my diafine mixtures "dead", if not what happened to my rolls? Please help and thank you very much!

i put my bet on the developer. I guess u already know that to confirm that you have to use fresh, non expired developer to test on yr expired film .

Yea, I know. When I got empty roll the first time I developed, I thought I mistakenly developed a new roll because I have this habit of leaving rolls of films on my table new or exposed. At the same time, I kind of suspected the developer was exhausted but everyone on the internet said diafine will last forever. On the second time, I am very very sure I have properly exposed the 2 rolls of films and yet I'm getting the same results again.

i put my bet on the developer. I guess u already know that to confirm that you have to use fresh, non expired developer to test on yr expired film .