Why DSLR Full HD Videos cannot be compared to Blu-Ray Full HD Videos

kcuf2

Dec 29, 2005
KFC
I must put a disclaimer first: I may have been involved in photography for close to 6 years, I am a total newbie aka noob in videography.

There is one thing that has been puzzling my mind. Why is it that the Full HD Videos that I took with my DSLR is not as crystal sharp/clear as those that we see in the movies or Blu-Ray Full HD Movies?

Although the DSLR video is Full HD and the Blu-Ray movies are also Full HD, Why is it that I feel that the videos on Blu-Ray Full HD Movies are so much sharper and clearer than what I can shoot using my DSLR? And some more i find that the Blu-Ray Full HD Movies are much smoother.

Equipments I used to take videos at Full HD:
1. 1D MK IV
2. 5D MK 2
3. 50mm F1.2L
4. 85mm F1.2L
5. 16-35mm F2.8L

Anyone can enlighten this newbie over here?

I must put a disclaimer first: I may have been involved in photography for close to 6 years, I am a total newbie aka noob in videography.

There is one thing that has been puzzling my mind. Why is it that the Full HD Videos that I took with my DSLR is not as crystal sharp/clear as those that we see in the movies or Blu-Ray Full HD Movies?

Although the DSLR video is Full HD and the Blu-Ray movies are also Full HD, Why is it that I feel that the videos on Blu-Ray Full HD Movies are so much sharper and clearer than what I can shoot using my DSLR? And some more i find that the Blu-Ray Full HD Movies are much smoother.

Equipments I used to take videos at Full HD:
1. 1D MK IV
2. 5D MK 2
3. 50mm F1.2L
4. 85mm F1.2L
5. 16-35mm F2.8L

Anyone can enlighten this newbie over here?
never done videography but i guess the so called HD is just a resolution of 1920x1080. the sharpness itself is defined by the resolving power of the sensors and lenses. its like how come 18mp sensor shoot a picture vs 12mp sensor shoot a picture with similar lenses, does not mean 18mp will be sharper.